Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Overcoming Soundhead Inertia

Author Topic: Overcoming Soundhead Inertia
Mitchell Cope
Master Film Handler

- posted 06-24-1999 07:13 AM      Profile for Mitchell Cope   Email Mitchell Cope   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I'm relatively new to film collecting and I have a projector that you're probably not familiar with, an A.V.E. 35mm Transportable. But the problem I'm experiencing may be common and I wanted advice. When I start up my films I sometimes notice that the loop grew in size, large enough to rub against the back wall of the projector. After fooling around with it for awhile, I figured that that the film is being stripped out of the takeup sprocket by the soundhead on startup. I don't know about most projectors, but I have a huge flywheel attached to my soundhead. Because of trying to overcome this large moment of inertia on startup at the soundhead, a lot of tension exists between it and the takeup sprockets. (Yes, I have the two arms that normally keep the film tension constant between the two points.) This tension is enough to strip film from the takeup sprockets. On polyester based films, the holes aren't torn, but you can see where the sprockets have worn a grove in the film, making it worst on the next startup. I'm sure this would tear sprockets on acetate based films.