Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Processor Questions (Page 1)

This topic comprises 3 pages: 1  2  3 

Author Topic: Processor Questions
John T. Hendrickson, Jr
Jedi Master Film Handler

- posted 10-12-2002 09:10 PM      Profile for John T. Hendrickson, Jr   Email John T. Hendrickson, Jr   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Our owner has an opportunity to buy two Sony DCP 1000's second hand, and wants to upgrade two of our smaller houses. I ran a search and could find no information on this product, and I have no experience with Sony equipment. So...I have several questions:

First, what is the vintage of these processors?

Second, for those of you who have worked with them, what is your opinion as to their quality and reliaibility?

Third, what is the availability of replacement parts and ease of repair?

Fourth, as we do not intend to go with SDDS, are these processors able to run DTS?

Lastly, what would be a ballpark fair price?

Steve, Mark, Gordon, Brad, or anyone else- can you help me out on this one?

Many thanks,
John

|  IP: Logged

Brad Miller
Administrator

- posted 10-12-2002 10:41 PM      Profile for Brad Miller   Author's Homepage   Email Brad Miller       Edit/Delete Post 
Sorry, I've never used them so I can't be of much help here.

Gordon McLeod
Film God

- posted 10-12-2002 11:29 PM      Profile for Gordon McLeod   Email Gordon McLeod   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
There are many better used processor on the market that I would recomend to any one ahead of those

Michael Schaffer
"Where is the
Boardwalk Hotel?"

- posted 10-13-2002 12:07 AM      Profile for Michael Schaffer   Author's Homepage   Email Michael Schaffer   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post