Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » payment for dues...or something like rthat

Author Topic: payment for dues...or something like rthat
Robert Edgecomb
Film Handler

- posted 04-29-2004 01:11 AM      Profile for Robert Edgecomb   Email Robert Edgecomb   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
This may be an inappropriate question but I need to know. I have been doing projection work and such for about 6 months and I was wondering what one should expect as far as pay goes. I do maintenance work, film work and such but I don't feel that I am not getting paid nearly enough and I want to know what would should expect. I hope that someone can help me.

|  IP: Logged

Carl Martin
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted 04-29-2004 02:59 AM      Profile for Carl Martin   Author's Homepage   Email Carl Martin   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
well, if you feel you're not getting paid nearly enough, then that's about right. [Frown]

i dug up some old union timecards in the booth. what we make now is about what they made 25 years ago, and they got all kinds of perks and extras as well. it's a slightly different situation to be sure, as i'm not union and there are many things that i'm "not supposed to know", but i think it's still a telling figure.

carl

Peter Kerchinsky
Master Film Handler

- posted 04-29-2004 03:32 AM      Profile for Peter Kerchinsky   Email Peter Kerchinsky   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Robert
My suggestion would be try to get an idea of what other theatres pay in your area for similar type work. It might be difficult as many don't let that info out, but worth a try.
In our area it is very far apart, from non-union venues to union venues. Sometimes as much as ten dollars per hour difference!
Carl