Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Could Digital Projectors help the deaf???

Author Topic: Could Digital Projectors help the deaf???
Matthew Stevens
Film Handler

- posted 11-30-2005 05:00 PM      Profile for Matthew Stevens   Author's Homepage   Email Matthew Stevens   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Could digital projectors be helpful to the deaf? I'm currently studying American Sign Language at the University of Colorado and I was required to watch a subtitled movie for my class. I was trying to figure out how much it would cost to make a film with subtitles for the deaf. Not English subtitles but English deaf subtitles (i.e. [woman singing], [man yelling]).

It would make sense to have digital projectors available to turn on subtitles at a click of a button.

I'm looking for some opinions on this matter, pro or con, both would be very helpful for my paper I'm writing. Thanks.

|  IP: Logged

Alan Gouger
Jedi Master Film Handler

- posted 11-30-2005 05:20 PM      Profile for Alan Gouger   Author's Homepage   Email Alan Gouger   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Matthew

Subtitles are handled at the source. DVD player,ect. Closed caption is another form of displayed text for the hearing impaired but that is something built into and requires a tuner. Plasmas, LCD panels, Direct view TV and RP TVs all have built in tuners and offer CC. Years ago front projectors had built in tuners but this practice was done away with many years ago with the cross over to digital TV. At this time none of the FP manufactures offer built in tuners.

What you are asking for most likely would only be available as a stand alone box.

Matthew Stevens
Film Handler