Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » How bad is the DP 75? (Page 1)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: How bad is the DP 75?
Thomas Jonsson
Expert Film Handler

- posted 02-12-2006 06:06 AM      Profile for Thomas Jonsson   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
At least in Sweden, the Philips DP 75 (not the Kinoton DP75 E) has
a very bad reputation. Itīs said to be noisy, and generally a
no-good machine.

Is it really that bad? I know itīs not DP 70 class, but how does it
actually perform? If compared to the FP30 D, whatīs the 35mm image
like, regarding focus and steadiness? How does it handle 70mm? Any
comments?

I have no experience in this machine, just curious.

Thomas

|  IP: Logged

Gordon McLeod
Film God

- posted 02-12-2006 06:54 AM      Profile for Gordon McLeod   Email Gordon McLeod   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
It is awkward to thread and the gate is a very convoluted curve to it but it does put out a very good picture
the sprocket pads are often an issue
Not a bad machine but just not one of my favorites

Steve Guttag
We forgot the crackers Gromit!!!

- posted 02-12-2006 03:43 PM      Profile for Steve Guttag   Email Steve Guttag   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I think Gordon summed it up pretty well. I have a pair under our service and they are doing just fine but they don't receive anything like a "grind" service.

I would NOT characterize them as noisy either...they run film at similar loudness as the other Kinoton machines.

BTW....there is not difference between the Philips DP75 and Kinoton DP75...same machine. The new machine, the FP 75E is a cross between an FP30E and an SP75E.