Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Victoria 5 sound issues?

Author Topic: Victoria 5 sound issues?
Ron Davis
Film Handler

- posted 01-10-2007 09:00 AM      Profile for Ron Davis   Author's Homepage   Email Ron Davis   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Greetings all!

Let me start out by saying that I'm a complete newbie to all this, so be easy on me if I ask some blindingly obvious questions. [Smile]

I'm fairly new to the theater business and have recently taken over management of a small local theater. All 3 projectors are the same (the have labels that say VICTORIA 5 on them) but one of them is having sound issues.

The weird part is that it seems the spoken word is ok, but any music tracks are VERY distorted. I noticed that, down by the sound drum there is a lever that constantly bobs up and down and it coincides with the distortion. I propped it up so the film just passes thru the rollers and doesn't even touch them and that seems to have fixed it.

I'm sure its just a band-aid fix and would like to know if anyone has any experience with these projectors and maybe have run into this before? On a more general note, are there any maintenance documents out there that I could get ahold of? I'm sure I should be oiling something, but have no idea where to start.

Thanks much all!

-Ron

|  IP: Logged

Sam D. Chavez
Film God

- posted 01-10-2007 10:43 AM      Profile for Sam D. Chavez   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I would guess you have an out of round or stuck lay down roller (the one above the sound drum) or a dent in the sound drum.

There is also a dashpot (a shock absorber below the sound drum that requires fluid).

That will do for a start.

Richard Fowler
Film God