Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Frame not stable on screen shaky image (Page 1)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: Frame not stable on screen shaky image
Michael Moore
Expert Film Handler

- posted 05-02-2007 06:38 PM      Profile for Michael Moore   Author's Homepage   Email Michael Moore   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Frame not stable on screen shaky image

I am new to this forum, however I have been projecting film for on and off for the past 10 years or so. I am currently head projectionist at the Schwartz Center for the Arts in dover Delaware.
We are running are films on a super simplex with a Speco LP 270 platter. I had to recently replace my intermittent as well as several of the fiber gears because the intermittent star gear cracked during a show.
I now have a new problem I never had before. The image is shaky on the screen, and it seems to be worse on some movies then others. I have tried to increase tension on the springs behind the pads but this did not help. I tried the use a different film gate al together but this does not solve the problem. At some point we are getting a grant to replace the super with a century. Until that day arrives I have to live with what I have. Does anyone have any tricks to fix a problem like this?
Thank you
Mike

|  IP: Logged

Mark Gulbrandsen
Resident Trollmaster

- posted 05-02-2007 06:50 PM      Profile for Mark Gulbrandsen   Email Mark Gulbrandsen   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Michael... we really need more specific info...

Is the image shaky up and down or side to side or both?

Was this shake concurrent with the installation of the new intermittent?

Are all the gears meshed properly and did you check to see if any of the shafts were bent before replacing the gears?