Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Starting my own service co. Any suggestions? (Page 1)

This topic comprises 5 pages: 1  2  3  4  5 

Author Topic: Starting my own service co. Any suggestions?
Sean McKinnon
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted 06-24-2007 07:27 PM      Profile for Sean McKinnon   Author's Homepage   Email Sean McKinnon   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
After recieving a decent inheritance from my beloved Grandmother I decided to go buy a scope RTA, Spotmeter, tools, and everything else you could think of. I got a parts dealer who gives me a substantial discount and will ship parts through my DHL acct so it looks like I have a huge wearhouse. I got a 3 million dollar liability policy, Federal and state tax ids, bank accts etc... Im a DBA right now but I should be a corporation in a few days. I am also working out a contract with another service co to provide back-up emergency service if I am busy or need time off. I have very low overhead as I have a meilbox and a car, all my parts I dont store on hand (except critical tech stock) I feel I can offer better service at a much much lower price than the big guys. My service contracts are 50 a screen a month and includes emergency service, pm's, follow up labor, and 1 free "upgrade labor" per year. Also where others will charge for going out on a call just to change a xenon lamp I include that. I dont want to take over the world I just want to pick up 100-150 screens. My only overhead is my car, cellphone, insurance, and paying for my back-up contract. Anyone have any advice or suggestions? Im not looking to steal accounts from people but to pick up the theatres that cannot afford a service contract with the big guys. I offer the first month free and a discount for chains with 5 or more locations. I offer 4