Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » MIT Platter/Mut system

Author Topic: MIT Platter/Mut system
Kurt Zupin
Jedi Master Film Handler

- posted 07-07-2007 05:42 AM      Profile for Kurt Zupin   Email Kurt Zupin   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Ok, our brand new theater went with MIshiT platters and muts. I've never used this brand before here. When I went to break down my first print I found out that we had to disengage the motor to break the print down. Well this brought up a "wonderful" problem. There is no resistance on the platter so it free spins. Which makes breaking down a print a pain in the ass.

So my question is this, have any of you had this problem? And if so what have you done to solve this problem other then using your hand to put resistance on the platter. I would appreciate any help.

Thank you in advance.

|  IP: Logged

Brad Miller
Administrator

- posted 07-07-2007 06:11 AM      Profile for Brad Miller   Author's Homepage   Email Brad Miller       Edit/Delete Post 
Try this

Peter Mork
Expert Film Handler

- posted 07-08-2007 01:04 AM      Profile for Peter Mork   Email Peter Mork   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Brad's brake seems like a good idea, I might try it, though I always disengage my platters when doing breakdowns, which for Christies and Specos means wedging something against the motor to disengage it. I prefer free-spinning platters, and slow them down by leaning into them with my pants (use your hand and risk a nice friction burn, ouch).

When it's a Thursday night and I have four or more prints to pack up, I wanna go FAST!

Joe Redifer
You need a beating today

- posted 07-08-2007 01:27 AM      Profile for Joe Redifer   Author's Homepage   Email Joe Redifer   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post