Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Restoring 70mm in my home town...I want to know everything you know! (Page 1)

This topic comprises 3 pages: 1  2  3 

Author Topic: Restoring 70mm in my home town...I want to know everything you know!
Brian Rose
Film Handler

- posted 10-23-2010 08:32 PM      Profile for Brian Rose   Email Brian Rose   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello!

This is my first post here, the first of what I expect to be many. Here is my story, and my situation upon which I would appreciate any and all advice and wisdom you can give! I am a filmmaker by trade, but also a lover of classic cinema, and cinema formats. And 70mm for me is the ultimate! I've only had the privilege of experiencing the format twice, both times at Ebertfest. I never thought it would be possible to show 70mm in my hometown, Kansas City, KS...long taken over by megaplexes. Until now!

I have located a theatre equipped with a pair of Century JJs, which up to now have been used exclusively for 35mm. The managers have expressed some interest in revitalizing the 70mm capability, and I'm determined to see it through. Now, I've not yet had a chance to inspect the venue for myself, but from my conversations with the tech, there is quite a bit of work to be done, primarily with sound. I am told the mag head readers are no longer in place, though I'm hoping this is mistaken. Why would they remove the penthouse anyways? However, I'm assuming worst case scenario, so...

The theatre is equipped for DTS, but lacks 70mm readers. There would also need to be significant upgrades on the film handling side of thing: reels, splicers, etc.