Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Couple of basic questions about 70mm DTS readers

Author Topic: Couple of basic questions about 70mm DTS readers
Brian Rose
Film Handler

- posted 10-27-2010 10:10 AM      Profile for Brian Rose   Email Brian Rose   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Got a couple of questions about DTS readers, relating to the 70mm type. I'm a newb to it, so I hope you'll forgive my ignorance! [Smile]

1) On a projector that already has a 35mm DTS reader, is it possible to simply swap out the 35, and mount the 70 in its place?

2) Is the 70mm reader dual format, that is, can it handle 35 as well, or is it dedicated to a single format necessitating separate readers?

Thanks guys for the help. You have been SO HELPFUL in my efforts to revitalize 70mm in my home town!

Best,

BR

|  IP: Logged

Manny Knowles
"What are these things and WHY are they BLUE???"

- posted 10-27-2010 10:56 AM      Profile for Manny Knowles   Email Manny Knowles   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Did you already do a search on here for "DTS 70" ?

Brian Rose
Film Handler

- posted 10-27-2010 11:56 AM      Profile for Brian Rose   Email Brian Rose   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Yes I did, and I read some about break away plates, and switching from 35 to 70, but I also read of a 70/35 DTS reader, so I wasn't sure if such a thing actually existed, or if it was a misstatement. I suspect I'll have to switch between them, but I thought I'd ask.

BR

Tony Bandiera Jr
Film God

- posted 10-27-2010 01:30 PM      Profile for Tony Bandiera Jr   Email Tony Bandiera Jr   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hey Brian:

Answers to your questions are: