Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Various Dolby Digital setup questions

Author Topic: Various Dolby Digital setup questions
David E. Nedrow
Master Film Handler

- posted 04-03-2014 12:50 AM      Profile for David E. Nedrow   Author's Homepage   Email David E. Nedrow   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Since there are no DTS discs for Captain America, I installed a BACP DSTR20 reader and have it all connected to the CP650. Green lights and sound.

Since I've never worked with DD before, I have some questions.

1) Audio Offset - If the audio is coming before the matching mouth movements, do I increase or decrease the offset? It's off a tiny bit, but I'm not sure which way to move the offset. Also, is there an easy way to figure out the offset "statically" with just a length of film. I thought maybe I could thread it up, place a mark at the optical head, and another at the digital head, measure the distance between them in feet, multiply by 16 and then by 4 to get the offset. This seems to have gotten me close-ish.

2) Digital Level - The digital signal level seams ridiculously high. Running trailers (not the best source material for level setting) basically keeps the channel levels pegged at the top. Is there a way to lower the digital level relative to the levels set during calibration? SR and DTS sound perfect, but digital is running at 11. [Wink]

|  IP: Logged

Brad Miller
Administrator

- posted 04-03-2014 01:00 AM      Profile for Brad Miller   Author's Homepage   Email Brad Miller       Edit/Delete Post