Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » strangeness at the edge of the reel

Author Topic: strangeness at the edge of the reel
Edgar Njari
Film Handler

- posted 07-03-2016 07:05 AM      Profile for Edgar Njari   Author's Homepage   Email Edgar Njari   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
if it was "real" instead of reel, it could pass for a nice movie title...

Pardon my poetic expression, and let me first say HI to everyone as I'm new here. My name is Edgar, and I recently joined this forum, and film community at large, when I started shooting on 35mm, rather late in it's history I might add. By the end of this year, I hope to project my first 35mm print, as one of the local theaters where I live still operates a 35mm film project, though it rarely uses it except on freak occasions (like when someone like me comes along).

Anyway let me get to the point.

I have fond memories of watching movies in cinemas in the 90s and 2000s, when film projection was still the main standard. I often feel nostalgia towards all the artifacts associated with film projection, such as reel changes (before platters came along), optical soundtrack (before digital soundtracks) vinyl-like crackle etc.

But there is something that I remember seeing in certain cases, which puzzles me to this day.

Specifically I think it was the LOTR (Two Towers) print, and the way it behaved when the reels were changing. I remember that the entire image kind of shifted to cyan or blue at the very end of the reel. Then the next reel seemed to have a significant shift in sharpness for some reason, which I think didn't last long until it settled in, and there was also a contrast change. By sharpness I don't mean better image detail, I mean edge effects; adjacency effects which sometimes happen in development.