Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Digital Cinema Forum   » Christie, WCLs, and RealD

Author Topic: Christie, WCLs, and RealD
Jeffrey Allen Rydell
Film Handler

- posted 03-02-2010 11:39 PM      Profile for Jeffrey Allen Rydell   Email Jeffrey Allen Rydell   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi, guys.

First post after some searching didn't turn up an answer to this week's puzzlement. I'm a fairly new projectionist at a Carmike. After being out of a self-taught 35mm gig over a decade ago, I'm now struggling to catch up with the transition to Digital.

We're using both the CP2000 S and H models, on common height screens, with WCL lenses. First up, the WCLs are used in both 3D formats mostly, it seems, to provide a swingable mount for the Z Screen polarizer. The problem is that the Flat 3D content needs to be pretty radically scaled down on the imager to fit on the screen, introducing anomalies (of the 'jaggie' persuasion) in the process. There are several screen presets of varying degrees of rescale to choose from via the touch pad controller. These have apparently been made available by RealD rather than Christie- which isn't encouraging for the possibility of getting around the image degradation.

I can take out the WCL and just project through the prime lens, using the swing arm as an 'empty' mount for the Z Screen, and size the image back up to full resolution by selecting the initializing 'No Crop' screen file, but that's where things get especially screwy - in all 3D channels, there's top/bottom image crop - an unacceptable amount in 3D Flat. Yet I can run a 3D framing chart in a 2D channel, and no such cropping is evident (only the expected outta-whack color).