Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Digital Cinema Forum   » E-Cinema Server-Security Implementation

Author Topic: E-Cinema Server-Security Implementation
Venkat SIddareddy
Film Handler

- posted 05-04-2011 10:30 AM      Profile for Venkat SIddareddy   Author's Homepage   Email Venkat SIddareddy   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi,
I am an independent Digital Cinema Developer from India. Recently I have completed the development of a very cost-effective E-Cinema server. The sound and image are extremely good. They are far better than the existing servers here.
But I am stuck at the HDCP or similar implementation.
Can some one suggest a decent way for protecting my video signal?
Right now my server can check for a valid projector and will start playing the encrypted video only if the projector is valid.
However I can use a DVI/HDMI splitter and connect a second device after the video starts playing in the first device.

What are the possible ways of preventing this?

If there are any programmers out there who are willing to help me implement these security features I would be glad to collaborate with them.

Thanks
Venkat

|  IP: Logged

Terrence Meiczinger
Film Handler

- posted 05-04-2011 12:07 PM      Profile for Terrence Meiczinger   Author's Homepage   Email Terrence Meiczinger   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
If you are using a standard HDCP compliant video card it will send content to any HDCP display device. If you switch in the middle of a stream, it will re-negotiate with the the new device and play. If you are using an HDCP compliant splitter, you can even feed multiple devices. So, your scenario may be perfectly valid.

Venkat SIddareddy
Film Handler