Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Digital Cinema Forum   » Accessing subtitles track on DCP server?

Author Topic: Accessing subtitles track on DCP server?
Tony Tse
Film Handler

- posted 07-07-2017 05:00 AM      Profile for Tony Tse   Email Tony Tse   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello,

I am working on a personalized device to improve closed caption technology. I have talked to local cinemas here (they have Doremi DCP server) and they are willing to help me do some testing.

Is it possible to accessing the subtitles if they are available? For example, call the server to return the line at current video time.

I am an engineer (and hard of hearing!) but I don't work specifically in DCP so any info would be appreciated [Smile] .

|  IP: Logged

Marcel Birgelen
Film God

- posted 07-07-2017 06:30 AM      Profile for Marcel Birgelen   Email Marcel Birgelen   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
You should check SMPTE ST430-10 and SMPTE ST430-11, both describe a protocol to receive closed captions from DCI servers compatible with the protocol (which covers most of them).

Both specifications are available on-line, though not necessarily for free. The protocol itself is royalty free though.

Other routes, like reading it directly from the DCP are problematic, as most DCPs for commercial distribution are encrypted and your equipment would need to become part of the "secure chain", which would require DCI certification. Furthermore, you would still need to implement SMPTE ST430-10 in order to synchronize with the playback.

Tony Tse
Film Handler

- posted 07-07-2017 07:07 AM      Profile for Tony Tse   Email Tony Tse   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Thanks, Marcel! That's the kind of information I needed.

Harold Hallikainen
Jedi Master Film Handler