Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Ground Level   » Durability of film vs digital equipment (Page 1)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: Durability of film vs digital equipment
Terry Lynn-Stevens
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted 01-07-2013 03:48 PM      Profile for Terry Lynn-Stevens   Email Terry Lynn-Stevens   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello, I need some help, I have basic 35mm knowledge and I am in a good argument with somebody in regards to 35mm vs digital cinema. I hope I have posted in the right forum, I am new around here.

Basically, I have stated that a well done 35mm set up will last longer, and turn out to be more efficient than a digital set up. With basic maintenance, 35mm parts could last decades before needing replacement.

Can someone give me a basic idea of how long a brand new, well done, high quality 35mm set up will last "all things considered" versus a brand new digital set up "all things considered"?

|  IP: Logged

Mike Blakesley
Film God

- posted 01-07-2013 04:18 PM      Profile for Mike Blakesley   Author's Homepage   Email Mike Blakesley   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
You are correct that 35mm equipment will last longer, is easier to fix, and is cheaper than digital equipment. There are lots of projectors out there that are 50 or more years old and still running fine -- but if you want to be in the movie business these days (and not run old movies) you pretty much have to go digital, because in not too many months the studios won't be providing film anymore.

The whole reasoning for the change to digital is:

Cheaper for the studios
3-D and high-frame-rate capability
Less manpower for the theatres
Picture not susceptible to scratches and damage
In a lot of places, brighter and sharper picture and better sound