Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Community   » Film-Yak   » I.A.T.S.E. and the Mafia

Author Topic: I.A.T.S.E. and the Mafia
Will Kutler
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted 12-05-2002 07:03 PM      Profile for Will Kutler   Email Will Kutler   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Many years ago crime figures like Bugsy Segal, Lepke Buchalter and the like had infiltrated the I.A.T.S.E. locals (especially in N.Y. and L.A.) like they had so many others. I wonder if any of our older F.T. members may have had any "colorful" memories that they may like to share?

|  IP: Logged

Tim Reed
Better Projection Pays

- posted 12-05-2002 09:35 PM      Profile for Tim Reed   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
When I was a young sound engineer, one of my first assignments was in a large southern city that had a strong local. After several weeks, I decided to ask the guys if I could meet the BA for lunch, to introduce myself. They said I'd have to wait a few years, because he had just been thrown in jail for arson! Evidently, one of the circuits in town was trying to bust the union, so a group of men and the BA decided to "send a message" by burning a theatre down.

I immediately began to wonder what I'd gotten myself into! Talk about your baptism of fire! [Eek!]

Mark Ogden
Jedi Master Film Handler

- posted 12-06-2002 03:43 PM      Profile for Mark Ogden   Email Mark Ogden   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Yeah, the mob used to be all over the IA, ever since the thirties. The real problem areas were NY and Local 110 in Chicago, where Paulie the Waiter used to run things, and with Roy Brewer out in LA. I don't know how much influence they have these days, though I have the feeling that with the way the union operators have been decimated it's not very much.