Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Community   » Film-Yak   » Avid vs. Final Cut Pro (Page 1)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: Avid vs. Final Cut Pro
Tal Marks
Film Handler

- posted 02-01-2004 08:59 PM      Profile for Tal Marks   Author's Homepage   Email Tal Marks   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi y'all.

I would like to know if I were to pursue some formal education in the editing arena, what would be better to learn? Avid or FCP?

I have some working knowledge of FCP and I'm familiar with the interface. I have not, though, worked with the Avid. Is there one platform with more advantages of mastering than the other? From what I read and see, it seems Avid is more of a "professional" platform as FCP is widely used in the Indie world. I'm sure I'm wrong.

I would ultimately like to be involved in the motion picture feature film world (like i am now), but on the post-production side. If anyone is currently using either one of the above mentioned programs professionally, I'd like to know why one and not the other and what types of projects you've worked on. If you could also state your opinion as to the pros & cons of each, that'd be great, too.

If I'm leaving out any pertinent information to answer any questions, please let me know.

thanks.

|  IP: Logged

Tim Reed
Better Projection Pays

- posted 02-01-2004 09:05 PM      Profile for Tim Reed   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Everything seems to be going the FCP route, from what I've read.

Manny Knowles
"What are these things and WHY are they BLUE???"

- posted 02-01-2004 09:21 PM      Profile for Manny Knowles   Email Manny Knowles   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post