Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Community   » Film-Yak   » WTF is a Spike Lee "Joint"? (Page 1)

This topic comprises 3 pages: 1  2  3 

Author Topic: WTF is a Spike Lee "Joint"?
Joe Redifer
You need a beating today

- posted 09-19-2008 07:36 PM      Profile for Joe Redifer   Author's Homepage   Email Joe Redifer   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
What the hell is this "joint" nonsense? Does he think he's better than us?

|  IP: Logged

Brad Miller
Administrator

- posted 09-19-2008 08:39 PM      Profile for Brad Miller   Author's Homepage   Email Brad Miller       Edit/Delete Post 
I've been asking myself that question for the last 20 years. You will not find an acceptable answer. The best answer I've heard in that timeframe was the "unfinished sentence" excuse, meaning "a Spike Lee Joint (venture/effort/production)"...but that's just as retarded and awful of an answer as his movies.

I stand firm that my original assessment of the term is that joint=shit.

Michael Barry
Jedi Master Film Handler

- posted 09-19-2008 10:20 PM      Profile for Michael Barry   Email Michael Barry   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I always thought that was weird, too.

My best guess is that he means 'joint' as in a place to hang out, like a pizza joint, or as in, 'come hang out back at my joint'.

So instead of making 'films', he makes 'joints': a cool place to go hang for a couple of hours where you'll feel right at home.

Or something like that.

Mike Blakesley
Film God

- posted 09-19-2008 10:28 PM      Profile for Mike Blakesley   Author's Homepage   Email Mike Blakesley   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post