Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Community   » Film-Yak   » FTP client (Page 1)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: FTP client
Richard May
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted 09-26-2013 04:04 PM      Profile for Richard May   Email Richard May   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I'm fairly new to FTP transfer but I have done them before. I'm using Filezilla now. Our internet at the theater is 25MBS download speed. Filezilla is transferring at an average of 800KBS. Is there a faster service?

|  IP: Logged

Rick Raskin
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted 09-26-2013 04:13 PM      Profile for Rick Raskin   Email Rick Raskin   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Probably not. Your theater internet is probably 25 Meg bits per second (Mbps). The FileZilla rate is 800K bytes per second MBps which translates to 6.4 Mbps (8 bits per byte).

Your transfer speed will be limited by the slowest link or host.

I use ftp quite a lot and rarely is the transfer even close to my internet link speed (35Mbps bidirectional). FileZilla is really quite good and the best part is its free.

Richard May
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted 09-26-2013 04:21 PM      Profile for Richard May   Email Richard May   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Well that's disappointing. Thanks anyway Rick.

Frank Cox
Film God

- posted 09-26-2013 05:28 PM      Profile for Frank Cox   Author's Homepage   Email Frank Cox   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post