Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Community   » Film-Yak   » Question about DSLR Available/Affordable Lenses

Author Topic: Question about DSLR Available/Affordable Lenses
Lyle Romer
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted 11-23-2014 06:08 AM      Profile for Lyle Romer   Email Lyle Romer   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I am a very amateur photographer. Most of the photos I take are landscape and wildlife when I visit national parks.

I currently use a Panasonic DMC-FZ18 which has a built in 28mm-504mm equivalent zoom lens. Having that range comes in handy when trying to photograph wildlife at a distance. I zoom out to locate the animal and then slowly zoom in so that I don't lose track of it. If I start zoomed in, sometimes it is extremely difficult to locate the animal.

With Black Friday sales, I am considering upgrading to a DSLR. Specifically, a Nikon D3200 that comes with 18-55mm and 55-200mm Lenses. I need a 500mm range lens for the type of shots I take.

I have seen 500mm mirror lenses for under $100. Do lenses exist for DSLRs with the type of zoom range that my current camera has? If so, do affordable options exist and are there any that are somewhat compact in size and light in weight?

|  IP: Logged

Scott Norwood
Film God

From: Boston, MA. USA (1774.21 miles northeast of Dallas)

- posted 11-23-2014 08:14 AM      Profile for Scott Norwood   Author's Homepage   Email Scott Norwood   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
You could come close with a 2x teleconverter for the 200mm lens. You will lose a couple of stops' worth of light, however.