NEC NC1200C venting into booth temporarily

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• NEC NC1200C venting into booth temporarily

Our projector exhaust fan on the roof just failed today. We want to fix it soon but there's no guarantee that will happen in a timely manner with contractors being busy, supply shortages, etc.

I've read that it's not allowed or not advised to vent the exhaust from a Digital Xenon projector into the projector booth due to possible ozone exposure.

Some posts say the ozone emitted is so small that it's fine but there is a chance there could be more ozone emitted than is healthy.

We're looking at this temporarily until it's fixed or until we upgrade to a Laser projector this spring/summer that no longer requires external exhaust.

Should we absolutely NOT vent into the building, vent to the inside temporarily, or fix the roof exhaust as soon as possible to be safe?

I'm new at this so please educate me

There are lots of factors involved here, including how big the room is you're venting into and how well that room in itself is ventilated and how long the projector will be running during the day.

Maximum advisable concentrations are between 0.07 and 0.08 ppm, but local regulations may differ so you may want to check on it. An ozone level meter can be bought for about $50 to $150, which can tell you if you come close or exceed those values and in that case, you should fix your ventilation.

Comment

Originally posted by Marcel Birgelen View Post
      There are lots of factors involved here, including how big the room is you're venting into and how well that room in itself is ventilated and how long the projector will be running during the day.