Dolby CP 750

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dolby CP 750

Hi I'm a long time theatre tech but new to Cinema systems. I'm learning on the fly. I was recently called in to the theatre I'm associated with for a "sound stopped working problem". It was intermittent at first and then stopped completely. The Dolby CP 750 unit was showing an odd random pattern on the front panel display. Then it went blank. My first thought was power supply issue as I've read several posts about it on here. When I checked it the next day after leaving it unplugged, it came on for about one minute and then powered off. Tried it again a few minutes later after pulling it from the rack, with the same results. My question since I haven't found the answer yet in the manual is, does this unit stay powered on or does it have a signal sensing circuit that powers on when it senses audio. A definitive answer will help me with my next step. Upgrading is planned but they want to get up and running asap. Cheers

No; the display stays lit constantly if the unit is working as it should. The front panel LED flickering out is very likely a bad power supply board. The good news is that, the last I knew at any rate, Dolby does still have them available for purchase. Furthermore, they are not pricey (low three figures), and the swapout is very easy.

The other fault that frequently affects CP750s is the so called "level drop disease," whereby you can barely hear anything, even with the fader cranked up to 10. The cure for that is a new motherboard, and the bad news is that as a result of a recent a fire at a factory in Japan that supplies Dolby with D to A converter chips, they have had to bring forward their planned date for discontinuing the sale of replacement motherboards, and these are no longer available.

If you contact your Dolby dealer, you should still be able to order a power supply board.

Comment