Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

New film tech. Setting up different aspect ratios? F200, F220 (Christie Projector)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New film tech. Setting up different aspect ratios? F200, F220 (Christie Projector)

Hey there,

I'm a new manager at a movie theater and we've been running into some issues with films like Jurassic World, The Northman, and Nope having very odd aspect ratios. I'd like to create a preset on our projectors to take care of this, so I'm not displaying the movie in a standard Flat container with black bars on top and bottom.

However, I'm very uncertain on how or where to get started. Does anyone have any advice or a link to a resource I can use to present these films properly?

Thanks!

Did your theater hire cinema techs before, do you know them? Creating your own screen files is certainly doable, but, without any previous experience, it is a steep learning curve. At the same time you don't want to mess with your existing presets. On the Christies, you can use your TPC to create these files. What types of projectors exactly are installed on your site? Christie has a range of different generations with different operating devices ('TPC').

Comment

We have a tech that's out of state, but his email response to me was to just run it in our standard Flat, which I don't think is ideal.

We're running a Christie CP-2000-S and Doremi DCP2000.

Comment

So, that is a Christie series 1 projector. That is important to know, because it is an older system and very different from the later series 2 systems, or even their latest series 3 or cinelife electronics.

While I know the procedures, I don't have any personal experience with setting up a series 1 system, others may chime in.